homepage home
subscribe to California Construction magazine subscribe
newsletters free e-newsletter
industry jobs industry jobs
Dodge Data & Analytics
California Construction Logo
Order Your RISK FREE Subscription

The Beavers Announce 2011 Awardees

Text size: A A

Three prominent California engineering industry veterans received 2011 Golden Beaver Awards at last week’s 56th annual awards dinner held at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

From left, Edmond Traille, James Monsees, Gary Janco, Bill Dutra and Gerry Carty.
----- Advertising -----

The guest speaker for the event was former Florida Governor Jeb Bush.

R. M. “Mike” Phelps, president of the Beavers, presented Bill T. Dutra, president and CEO of The Dutra Group in San Rafael, with the Management Award. A graduate of Oregon Institute of Technology, Dutra joined his family dredging and marine construction business, becoming the third generation involved in the operations. Dutra pioneered the use of hydraulic excavation equipment in North American dredging and distinguished himself in the field of underwater blasting excavation for the sunken tunnel on Boston’s “Big Dig.”

Gary Janco, vice president of C. C. Myers, Inc. of Rancho Cordova, received the Supervision Award. During his apprenticeship as a carpenter, Janco became interested in bridges and has spent the last 43 years building them. He was hired as the first general superintendent when C. C. Myers started his company in 1977. During his career, Janco has been involved in many high-profile projects, including the reconstruction of the Santa Monica Freeway after the 1994 earthquake, the Century Freeway and more recently weekend roadway replacement projects for the new San Francisco Bay Bridge.

The Service and Supply Award was presented to Edmond E. Traille, CEO and managing partner of GALLINA LLP of Walnut Creek. A graduate of the University of Notre Dame, Traille has over 40 years of experience assisting contractors with business, tax and financial reporting issues. He has generously shared his expertise with national and state construction associations, both as an active member as well as an educator.

The Engineering Award was given to James E. Monsees, senior vice president and technical director of underground engineering for Parsons Brinkerhoff. Monsees earned a bachelor and masters degree in civil engineering from the University of Missouri, then a PhD in Geotechnical Engineering from the University of Illinois. Over the last 50 years, Monsees has earned a reputation as an expert in the design and construction of tunnels and underground facilities. He has made numerous contributions in the areas of equipment development and construction technology.

And a Special Award was presented to Gerard J. Carty, executive director of The Moles, Woodcliff Lake, NJ. After earning a civil engineering degree from the University of Notre Dame, Carty began a 40-year construction career, starting with Johnson, Drake and Piper, and ultimately as vice president and chief engineer of Walsh Construction Co. In 1993 he was named executive director of The Moles, where he has dramatically improved their educational program and scholarship support for civil engineering students.

----- Advertising -----
New Blog: Vertically Speaking in Northern California
New Blog: Field Notes
Reader Photos
Photos from California Construction Photo Showcase
Dodge Lead Center
Search for local construction projects OR CALL 877-234-4246 and get a FREE Lead Now!
Search by Project Type & State

----- Advertising -----
 Reader Comments:

Sign in to Comment

To write a comment about this story, please sign in. If this is your first time commenting on this site, you will be required to fill out a brief registration form. Your public username will be the beginning of the email address that you enter into the form (everything before the @ symbol). Other than that, none of the information that you enter will be publically displayed.

We welcome comments from all points of view. Off-topic or abusive comments, however, will be removed at the editors’ discretion.